Madeleine's Picks

 

 I'm Madeleine Hess, and I am the youngest bookseller here! I'm 12 years old, and going into 6th grade. I have a Chihuahua named Lady, a rat named George, and three fish; Rocky, Pebbles, and Stones. My parents started reading to me when I was very young - my mom read to me about vegetarian dragons, and my dad about moles and badgers! I really like fantasy books, but I also enjoy realistic fiction - I like it all!

Stop in and let me help find you a book!

 

 

 

 

Staff Pick Logo
An Author's Odyssey Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316383295
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 12th, 2016

I felt like I was waiting forever for the next Land of Stories - it did not dissapoint! Don't expect to do anything else other than read this book, I sure didn't! It was as good as the four previous books in the series, and maybe even better. No spoilers here!!! Maddie, age 11.


Staff Pick Logo
The Ruins of Gorlan Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142406632
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - June 8th, 2006

Looking for a great fantasy series to keep you occupied for a while? I recommend all twelve books in the Ranger's Apprentice series! John Flanagan covers it all - adventure, mystery, suspence and humor! For fans of Percy Jackson & Harry Potter. Ages 10 & up. Maddie, age 11.


Staff Pick Logo
Fish in a Tree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399162596
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - February 5th, 2015

All together - this book is perfection! “Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.” I recommend this book for everyone! Grades 4 - 6+. Maddie - age 11


Staff Pick Logo
Lumberjanes Beware the Kitten Holy: Vol. 1 Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781608866878
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Boom Box - April 7th, 2015

One of the very best graphic novel series around! Five girls work together to fight magical monsters - girls rock! Teamwork, friendship, and fun! Maddie, age 11.


Staff Pick Logo
Herb, the Vegetarian Dragon Cover Image
By Jules Bass, Debbie Harter (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781905236473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Barefoot Books - September 1st, 2005

Staff Pick Logo
A Court of Thorns and Roses Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781619635180
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - May 3rd, 2016

Feyre does everything for her family, hunts, chops wood, makes money, but they live in a world of malice, and when she kills a stangely big wolf, she must pay the price! When she meets a Fae male named Thailin, her world totally changes. Battles fought quietly behnd walls turn into wars raging fully. Sara Maas is awesome, and her book takes you on a romantic and thrilling journey of a young woman. LOVE IT! - Maddie, age 12


Staff Pick Logo
Throne of Glass Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781619630345
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - May 7th, 2013

Throne of Glass

Celeana Sarthonien is an assasin, a world famous assasin. But, she was caught, and now must serve her time in the salt mines of endovier, where they don't kill you, they break you. The King is holding a competition to be the King's champion, and Prince Dorian wants Celeana! She will compete in the challenge, but a dark magic arises in the castle that puts everyone's lives at risk. Sara Maas takes us on a romantic and thrilling ride through the mountains of Adarlan. - Maddie, age 12