Caleb's Story (Sarah, Plain and Tall #3) (Paperback)

Caleb's Story (Sarah, Plain and Tall #3) Cover Image
Please call store for availability.
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Sarah, Plain and Tall series.


The third book in the series that began with the Newbery Medal–winning Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan.

Anna has done something terrible. She has given me a journal to fill.

"It's your job now," Anna says as she hands Caleb her journals, asking him to continue writing the family story. But Sarah, Jacob, Anna, Caleb, and their new little sister, Cassie, have already formed a family, and Caleb fears there will be nothing left to write about. That is, before Cassie discovers a mysterious old man in the barn, and everything changes. Everyone is excited about the arrival of a new family member—except for Jacob, who holds a bitter grudge. Only the special love of Caleb, and the gift he offers, can help to mend the pain of the past.

About the Author

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless novels for young readers, including Newbery Medal winner Sarah, Plain and Tall; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; The Truth of Me; The Poet’s Dog; and My Father’s Words. She is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

Praise For…

“MacLachlan’s appreciative readers will savor this new addition to the chronicle of a delightful family.”
— Kirkus (Starred Review)

“This is an excellent work of historical fiction, a satisfying sequel, and an inspiring tale about love and forgiveness.”
— School Library Journal

“Spare yet elegant prose.”
— ALA Booklist

“A welcome continuation of a well-loved story.”
— The Horn Book

“Heartwarming. Fans will enjoy learning more about this loving family.”
Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780064405904
ISBN-10: 0064405907
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 3rd, 2004
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Sarah, Plain and Tall