How to Avoid Extinction (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
How to Avoid Extinction Cover Image
Please call store for availability.
Special Order

Description


For fans of Gary Schmidt and Joan Bauer, a laugh-out-loud intergenerational road trip story from acclaimed author Paul Acampora!

Since the death of his grandfather, Leo's number one chore has been to chase after his grandmother who seems to wander away from home every few days. Now, Gram's decided to roam farther than ever. And despite his misgivings, Leo's going along for the ride. With his seventeen-year-old cousin, Abbey, and an old, gassy dog named Kermit, Leo joins Gram in a big, old Buick to leave their Pennsylvania home for a cross-country road trip filled with fold-out maps, family secrets, new friends, and dinosaur bones.How to Avoid Extinction is a middle grade comedy about death and food and family and fossils. It's about running away from home and coming back again. For Leo, it's about asking hard questions and hopefully finding some sensible answers. As if good sense has anything to do with it. Against a backdrop of America's stunning size and beauty, it's also about growing up, getting old, dreaming about immortality, and figuring out all the things we can -- and can't -- leave behind.

About the Author


Paul Acampora has written three novels and people have said nice things about each of them. Kids, parents, and critics praise his work for its laugh-out-loud humor, rollicking dialogue, and heartfelt characters. He is the author of Defining Dulcie, which School Library Journal called "an inextricable mix of sadness and humor, sorrow and hope"; and Rachel Spinelli Punched Me in the Face, which Kirkus Reviews described as "an outstanding, humane coming-of-age tale of loss, yearning and forgiveness," and I Kill the Mockingbird which, according to Booklist, is "[a] well-written, resolutely cheerful offering [which] celebrates books, reading, and life." You can find Paul online at paulacampora.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Confusion is Nothing New:"The dry wit of Acampora's characters... and the love of '80s music permeating every scene give this story its rhythm and soul." -- Publishers Weekly"The idiosyncratic characters bring the story to life and the irrepressible humor… is laugh-aloud funny. A satisfying novel of loss, change, and renewal." -- BooklistPraise for How to Avoid Extinction:"Acampora tucks laughter, tears, light doses of life wisdom, impressive fossils, and any number of appealing characters into this amiable odyssey." -- Booklist "The transformative power of the American road trip is taken to new heights." -- School Library Journal "Some of the chapter headings are funny enough to convince people to read the book all by themselves. " -- Kirkus Reviews "Love plus laughter is pretty much an extinction-proof formula for a middle-grade book, and jokesters, dinosaur fans, and those looking for a satisfyingly hopeful family drama will find plenty to dig up and enjoy here." -- Bulletin for the Center of Children's BooksPraise for I Kill the Mockingbird:"Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute." -- The Horn Book"The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud... You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life." -- Booklist"Funny, poignant, and quirky." -- School Library Journal"Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement... Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment." -- Voice of Youth Advocates"Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts... The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read." -- Kirkus Reviews"This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original Mockingbird and maybe inspire a few to check it out." -- Publishers WeeklyPraise for Rachel Spinelli Punched Me in the Face:"Fans of small-town color and happy endings will take heart in this ultimately hopeful tale." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"Quirky characters, small-town hominess, and frequent touches of humor create a Joan Bauer feel with cross-gender appeal." -- School Library Journal"An outstanding, humane coming-of-age tale of loss, yearning and forgiveness." -- Kirkus Reviews"Acampora's light touch with weighty issues makes for a highly appealing read--readers will want to spend more time with these well-crafted and complex characters." -- Publishers WeeklyPraise for Defining Dulcie:*"An affecting, engaging family story, uniquely told through the janitor's lens." -- Booklist,starred review*"Teens will appreciate both the warm security that surrounds Dulcie and the hard truth that life can be painful." -- School Library Journal, starred review

Praise for Confusion is Nothing New:"The dry wit of Acampora's characters... and the love of '80s music permeating every scene give this story its rhythm and soul." -- Publishers Weekly"The idiosyncratic characters bring the story to life and the irrepressible humor… is laugh-aloud funny. A satisfying novel of loss, change, and renewal." -- BooklistPraise for How to Avoid Extinction:"Acampora tucks laughter, tears, light doses of life wisdom, impressive fossils, and any number of appealing characters into this amiable odyssey." -- Booklist "The transformative power of the American road trip is taken to new heights." -- School Library Journal "Some of the chapter headings are funny enough to convince people to read the book all by themselves. " -- Kirkus Reviews "Love plus laughter is pretty much an extinction-proof formula for a middle-grade book, and jokesters, dinosaur fans, and those looking for a satisfyingly hopeful family drama will find plenty to dig up and enjoy here." -- Bulletin for the Center of Children's BooksPraise for I Kill the Mockingbird:"Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute." -- The Horn Book"The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud... You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life." -- Booklist"Funny, poignant, and quirky." -- School Library Journal"Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement... Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment." -- Voice of Youth Advocates"Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts... The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read." -- Kirkus Reviews"This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original Mockingbird and maybe inspire a few to check it out." -- Publishers WeeklyPraise for Rachel Spinelli Punched Me in the Face:"Fans of small-town color and happy endings will take heart in this ultimately hopeful tale." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"Quirky characters, small-town hominess, and frequent touches of humor create a Joan Bauer feel with cross-gender appeal." -- School Library Journal"An outstanding, humane coming-of-age tale of loss, yearning and forgiveness." -- Kirkus Reviews"Acampora's light touch with weighty issues makes for a highly appealing read--readers will want to spend more time with these well-crafted and complex characters." -- Publishers WeeklyPraise for Defining Dulcie:*"An affecting, engaging family story, uniquely told through the janitor's lens." -- Booklist,starred review*"Teens will appreciate both the warm security that surrounds Dulcie and the hard truth that life can be painful." -- School Library Journal, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545899062
ISBN-10: 0545899060
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: September 27th, 2016
Pages: 208
Language: English