Blackbirds (Miriam Black #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Blackbirds (Miriam Black #1) Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Couldn't put this book down! 

A young woman cursed with a powerful paranormal ability takes drastic action to escape her fate.

The prolific and often profane Wendig (Zeroes, 2015, etc.) originally published this novel in the U.K. in 2012, and he seemed to catch readers by surprise with the foulmouthed, punk-rock girl at its heart. The first in a series, this delightfully vicious and bloody urban horror novel provides a perversely entertaining introduction to a dangerous fugitive with a little something special up her sleeves. Miriam Black is a chain-smoking, hard-drinking, deeply paranoid runaway who's been living with a unique curse for eight years: whenever she lays a hand on someone, she sees exactly, precisely when and how they're going to die. Sure, it freaks her out, but she doesn’t let it stop her from dropping in on perverts and low-lifes at the moments of their demises to lift their wallets. “The rule is, it’s one and done,” she tells one amateur sleuth. “I get the vision once. It doesn’t keep happening over and over again—though, I’ll tell you, some of the really bad ones will keep a girl up at night.” Miriam is disturbed when she touches Louis, a seemingly normal truck driver, only to discover that the last thing he says at the moment of his death is Miriam’s name. Soon, there are killers after her, and in order to survive the experience and figure things out, Miriam must go to extremes to learn whether fate can be beaten or not. This won’t be everyone’s cup of tea—Wendig spins his story with Tarantino-esque multiplicity, and the book’s pyrotechnic profanity, bloody ultraviolence, and lack of romance are unlikely to appeal to fans of Laurell K. Hamilton or Patricia Briggs. But for those who like their noir with a twist of horror, this novel provides an engaging blend of occult surrealism, nihilism, and startling violence.

A lean, mean fantasy novel that’s likely to leave readers dented and bruised. - Kirkus 2012

— Kirsten

Loved this book! I can't believe I waited so long. 

— From Chuck Wendig

Description


The first book in the Miriam Black series: "A sassy, hard-boiled thriller with a paranormal slant" (The Guardian) about a young woman who can see the darkest corners of the future.

Miriam Black knows how you're going to die. This makes her daily life a living hell, especially when you can't do anything about it, or stop trying to. She's foreseen hundreds of car crashes, heart attacks, strokes, and suicides. She merely needs to touch you--skin to skin contact--and she knows how and when your final moments will occur. Miriam has given up trying to save people; that only makes their deaths happen. But then she hitches a ride with Louis Darling and shakes his hand, and she sees in thirty days that Louis will be murdered while he calls her name. Louis will die because he met her, and Miriam will be the next victim. No matter what she does she can't save Louis. But if she wants to stay alive, she'll have to try.

"Think Six Feet Under co-written by Stephen King and Chuck Palahniuk" (SFX), and you have Blackbirds a visceral, exciting novel about life on the edge.

About the Author


Chuck Wendig is equal parts novelist, screenwriter, and game designer - A.K.A. an all-around "freelance penmonkey." You can probably find him on the side of a highway holding a sign, "Will Write For Booze." He currently lives in the wilds of Pennsyltucky with wife, dog, and infant heir to the Wendig throne. You can find him dispensing dubious writing advice at his blog, terribleminds.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781481448659
ISBN-10: 148144865X
Publisher: Saga Press
Publication Date: September 15th, 2015
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Miriam Black