Book Launch Reception, In Honor of Broken Things w/Paul Acampora

Join us! 

 

You are invited to stop by and help us celebrate the book launch of In Honor of Broken Things, with middle-grade author extraordinaire, Paul Acampora. Time to get out of the house, and pop in for a casual meet & greet, plus of course, have a book signed.

We encourage you to pre-order here (select pick-up at store, pay at store) and receive a 20% discount. 

About the book: Three unlikely friends become partners in heartbreak and hope during a middle school pottery class in this powerful, poignant novel--perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

At West Beacon Middle School, eighth graders Oscar Villanueva, Ellie Baptiste, and Noah Wright become unlikely friends during Introduction to Clay class. Oscar, a football star, just lost his little sister to cancer. Ellie's been dragged away from Philadelphia by her single mom to a new life in West Beacon, a tiny Pennsylvania coal town that's smaller than Ellie's old school. Noah's spent his whole life as a homeschooler and just started West Beacon Middle School as a result of his parents' train wreck of a divorce. Through art, football, failure, faith, and trust, the friends help one another to piece things back together again. In true friendship, they also discover that some injuries may never heal, some things can never be unbroken--and that's okay too.

“A solid story of friendship . . . The characters are multidimensional and compelling, and the plot includes some unexpected turns . . . Despite these twists, the book has a hopeful ending, leaving readers eager to learn more about the characters. A multifaceted, ­realistic fiction tale.”—School Library Journal

"With brokenness as a theme, crushing sadness could have sunk the narrative, but Acampora leavens the story with Noah’s humor, Riley’s tell-it-like-it-is feistiness, and Oscar’s openness to receiving help.”—The Horn Book

“Reminiscent of Gary D. Schwartz’s sparse writing style . . . [A] fine testament to kindness, friendship, and positive parent-child relationships.”—School Library Connection

Paul Acampora writes short stories and novels for young readers. Kids, parents and critics praise his work for its laugh-out-loud humor, rollicking dialogue, and heartfelt characters. His books include Defining Dulcie (Dial 2006), Rachel Spinelli Punched Me in the Face (Roaring Brook 2011), I Kill the Mockingbird (Roaring Brook 2013), How to Avoid Extinction (Scholastic 2016), and most recently, Confusion is Nothing New (Scholastic 2018) Paul enjoys classroom visits and writing workshops for K-12 students. He is a dad, a husband, a former kindergarten teacher, a full-time development professional. Find more about Paul at Twitter (@paulacampora) or at paulacampora.com.

Event date: 

Tuesday, March 8, 2022 - 5:30pm to 6:30pm

Event address: 

Staff Pick Badge
In Honor of Broken Things By Paul Acampora Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984816641
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - March 8th, 2022

In Honor of Broken Things features characters that you will grow to care for and themes that will absolutely tug at your heartstrings! Most of us are a little broken, at least in some ways, and friendship can help us all. Highly recommend it to kids in grades 4 to 7 (or families to read aloud). I think it's my favorite Acampora book yet! Loved it!  - Kirsten H.